Australia Day 2021 program and award nominees

Filed in Just In by January 22, 2021

THE 2021 Upper Hunter Australia Day award nominees were announced yesterday, along with Ambassadors Gina Jeffries and David Hall OAM ,who will be making addresses at the Merriwa, Scone and Aberdeen ceremonies.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the Aberdeen and Scone ceremony will be an invitation only event and will be live-streamed on Council’s website from 9:30am. 

See full list of nominees and town-specific celebration details below

Murrurundi and Merriwa ceremonies will go ahead with Covid-19 safety plans in place, followed by a cricket match, barbeque and live music at Murrurundi and a barbeque lunch at Merriwa.

Afternoon pool celebrations will also take place, with free entry at the Merriwa, Murrurundi and Scone pools however, there will be attendance limitations due to COVID-19 restrictions.

UPPER HUNTER AUSTRALIA DAY PROGRAM (COVID-19 restrictions will be in place)

Merriwa Sports Club, King George V Ave

  • 10.30am Ambassador’s Address, Awards Ceremony;
  • 12.30 free barbecue lunch;
  • 2pm to 6pm free entry to Merriwa pool, entertainment and sausage sizzle.

Murrurundi:  Wilson Memorial Oval – BYO chair

  • 9am markets;
  • 10am Grand Parade;
  • 11am Ambassador’s Address, Awards Ceremony;
  • Cricket match, barbecue and live music;
  • 1pm to 6pm free entry to Murrurundi pool and entertainment.

Scone:  Council Chambers, 135 Liverpool Street 

  • 9.30am Awards Ceremony including Australian citizenship ceremony, Ambassador’s Address and Awards Ceremony. By invitation only;
  • Noon to 4pm free entry to Scone pool, entertainment and sausage sizzle.



    • Robert Dixon
    • Aberdeen Social Riders Motorcycle Club
    • Connor Sullivan
    • Michael & Melissa Roughan
  • Aberdeen Care Package Cadets
  • Aberdeen Lions Club Inc.
  • Aberdeen U14’s Junior Rugby League – Ladies League Team
  • Vanessa Hill
  • Carol Bowen


  • Patricia Kirkby
  • Rob Tindall
  • Chris Mitchell
  • Hylton Cronin
  • James Constable
  • Marie Scott
  • Sally Gilbey
  • Colin Bates
  • Harry Amidy
  • Abby Cooper
  • Suttons Livestock – Bronte & Peter Sutton
  • Carol and John Richard
  • Merriwa River Rural Fire Service


    • Murrurundi Meals on Wheels
    • Christine Betts
    • Rosey King
    • Dinah Norton
    • Lynne Mahony
    • Gypsy-Rose Whitby
  • Ahmad Challack


  • Desmond Collison
  • Indianna Welsh
  • Leigh Rowney
  • Carol Ray
  • Dylan Denley
  • Ebony Laithwaite
  • Joplin-Lea Higgins
  • Nick Price
  • Nicky Western

Australia Day Ambassadors

  • Merriwa: Gina Jeffries, Australian Country Music star, patron of the Australian Leukaemia Foundation and founder of the charity event Walk of Life;
  • Scone and Aberdeen:  David Hall, OAM, Paralympic Gold Medallist Tennis Player and ITF World Wheelchair Tennis Champion;
  • Murrurundi: To be advised.

Tags: , ,

Copyright 2024 © Wavelength Group Pty Ltd.    
Site map protected by patent. All rights reserved. Sitemap Terms and Conditions | Google Recaptcha Privacy | Terms