Scone Golf Report: Oct 19 – 20

Filed in Recent News, Sports Recent by October 21, 2019

By Lyn Banks

THE first two rounds of the Scone Golf Club Men’s Championships on the new course were played on October 19 and 20. Despite the dry weather the greenkeeper Craig Waugh and his staff presented the course in excellent condition with smooth fast greens which received many compliments from the players.

On Saturday, the Championships drew the largest field (61) of the year for a men’s competition. Windy conditions made the afternoon play a lot harder than the morning. The event was an 18 Hole Stroke for the Herb Phelps Memorial Shield sponsored by Bill Pumpa. The winner of was Brenan Reeves who had 72 off the stick for a brilliant 64 nett. The A Grade winner was Matt Hobbs with a very good 65 nett. The B Grade winner was Scott Shann with 68 nett and in C Grade Garry Carter had 67 nett.

The ball winners were Mal Haynes 68, James Smart 70, Gordon Halliday70, Charlie Manning 70, Kevin Thompson 70, David O’Donnell 71, Col Solway 71, George Campbell 71, Mac Dawson 72 and Tom Thompson 72 on a countback.

The NTP’s were won by Daryl Dutton 1.12 metres on the 4th / 13th, and by Tony O’Neill 0.43 metres on the 8th / 17th.

In the scratch events Brenan Reeves on 72 led Matt Hobbs 74 and Will O’Donnell 75. In B Grade Scott Shann on 79 led Clayton Rogers 85 and Charlie Manning 86, whilst in C Grade Garry Carter on 86 led Mal Haynes 91 and Kevin Thompson 92.

A good field of 41 players backed up on Sunday in pleasant conditions to contest the second round of the Championships. The prizes for the 18 Hole Stroke were donated by Jim Elder in three grades. Peter Teague had the round of the day with 67 nett to win C Grade. Jake Teague made it a family affair when he won A Grade with 69 nett. Jake also had the best scratch score with 74. Clayton Rogers won B Grade with a fine 70 nett.

The ball winners were Col Solway 71, John Roe 72, Kevin Thompson 72, Mac Dawson 72, Garry Carter 73, James Smart 73, Matt O’Donnell 73, Paul Smart 74, Matt Hobbs 74 and David O’Donnell 75 on a countback from Steve Morse.

The NTP’s were won by Glen Tarrant 1.19 metres on the 4th / 13th, and by Matt Hobbs 1.48 metres on the 8th / 17th.

After two rounds of the championships Jake Teague leads the championship by one shot from Mac Dawson. In B Grade Clayton Rogers, has a one shot lead from Scott Shann, and in C Grade Garry Carter has a three shot buffer to Peter Teague. In the Seniors, Jeff Harrington has a good lead of five shots to Steve Morse. The overall nett is close with Garry Carter and Matt Hobbs tied on 138 one shot ahead of Peter Teague.

 Scone Golf Club Men’s Club Championships after Round 2 Leaderboard:

  • A Grade: Jake Teague 151 (77,74); Mac Dawson 152 (76,76); Will O’Donnell 154 (75,79)
  • B Grade: Clayton Rogers 167 (85,82); Scott Shann 168 (79,89); Paul Smart 176 (88,88)
  • C Grade: Garry Carter 176 (86,90); Peter Teague (93,86) 179; Kevin Thompson (92,94) 186
  • Seniors: Jeff Harrington 166 (82,84); Steve Morse (87,84) 171; Paul Smart 176; Garry Carter 176
  • Nett: Garry Carter 138; Matt Hobbs 138; Peter Teague 139;

The Championships continue on Saturday October 26 for the Charolais Trophy and conclude on Sunday October 27 for the Phelps Trophy. Players are also reminded that entries for the Summer Knockout close at 6pm on Saturday October 26.

Tags: , ,

Copyright 2021 © Wavelength Group Pty Ltd.    
Site map protected by patent. All rights reserved. Sitemap Terms and Conditions | Google Recaptcha Privacy | Terms