Scone Golf Report: January 30

Filed in Just In, Sports Just In by February 3, 2020

By Lyn Banks

Jodie Hinde won the Asser House voucher on Thursday, January 30 at Scone Golf Course when the ladies played a 9 Hole Stableford. She had a great score of 20 points. Balls went to June Jukes 18, Lyn Banks 17 and Judy Carmody 16 points on a countback from Annie Woods.

On Thursday, February 6, the ladies will play for the Tea Of Life café voucher. The 18 hole season is set to start in a couple of weeks on February 20.

In the Wednesday, Yellow Tee Challenge, hot and humid conditions were endured by the players. The best score was by Matt Bailey who had 29 points and the runner up was Charlie Wintle who had 26 points on the short course.

On Saturday, February 1 the golfers headed out from 6.30am in order to be finished before the predicted 42 degrees. Many thanks to the greens staff who prepared the course for an earlier start. A field of 30 took advantage of the early start to contest the Scone RSL Group Monthly Mug playing an 18 Hole Stroke / Stableford round. The course was in great condition after the recent rain with some growth in the rough now making play more challenging.

The winner of the Mug was Jim Elder who has recently returned after hip surgery. He had a round he hasn’t had for a long time with a fine 67 nett. Grade prizes were distributed on stableford scores with Luke Stevens having 41 points to win A Grade, John Haydon 40 to win B Grade and Kevin Thompson on 38 points took out C Grade. 36 points or better was required to win a ball. These went to the above players and Jake Teague 38, Peter Teague, Justin Smart, Mick Alsleben, Garry Carter 37, Ross Banks and Mac Dawson 36 points.

The NTP’s were won by Mick Alsleben on the 4th / 13th with a shot to 1.54 metres and by Jake Teague on the 8th / 17th with a shot to 5.02 metres.

The final of the Kevan’s Knockout was played last Wednesday with Wayne Hedley defeating Duncan Yuille 3/2. This is Wayne’s third win of this prestigious event which has not been achieved before. Previous two time winners have been Tony Keilar, Peter Marshall, Dale Puxty, Paul Smart and Ross Banks.

On Saturday, February 8 the event will be an 18 Hole Stableford for the Rod Spratt and Kerry Benning Trophy and it will be the third round of the Summer Shield. Remember that the best 3 out of 4 rounds count. The scores for the first two rounds are on the notice board.

In the first of nine matches in the Hunter River District A Grade pennant, the team travelled to Hunter Valley Golf and Country Club on Sunday February 2. With play being five individual matches the team was defeated by Kurri 3-2. Jake Teague and Matt O’Donnell both had wins, whilst Will O’Donnell, Brenan Reeves and Mick Alsleben were beaten.

The Senior Pennant team also started their season on Sunday playing at home against Cypress Lakes and recording a 3-0 win. The three Fourball matches were played by Charlie Wintle & Col Solway who won 2&1, David Druce & Red Palmer who won 6&5, and third pairing Charlie Manning & George Davidson who won 5&4. With the division being played in two pools, they will play five rounds prior to possible semi- final.

Next Sunday February 9 the A Grade team plays at Maitland against Hunter Valley and the Senior team plays Aberdeen at Cypress Lakes.

Tickets for the Annual Presentation Night for men and ladies from the 2019 season, on Saturday, February 15 are available for purchase at Scone Sporties and Scone Newsagency. They need to be purchased by Saturday February 8.

Tags: , ,

Copyright 2021 © Wavelength Group Pty Ltd.    
Site map protected by patent. All rights reserved. Sitemap Terms and Conditions | Google Recaptcha Privacy | Terms